

Dr. Mary Spilde, President, Lane Community College Biography • February 2016

Dr. Mary Spilde is president of Lane Community College in Eugene, Oregon. She is a nationally respected authority on community colleges, workforce development and sustainability. Dr. Spilde has 36 years of experience in higher education. She was named Lane's sixth president in 2001, after serving six years in two vice president roles. Before Lane, she held a variety of leadership positions at Linn-Benton Community College in Albany for 15 years. She has a bachelor's degree in business and social systems and a law degree from the University of Edinburgh, Scotland, and a master's in adult education and a doctorate in post-secondary education from Oregon State University. Dr. Spilde is a frequent presenter, author and spokesperson and is often quoted in the national media including the Chronicle of Higher Education, Washington Post, New York Times, PBS Newshour, and other media.

Dr. Spilde has served on a number of influential committees and boards—

- America's Promise Educational Leadership Committee, current
- American Association of Community Colleges (AACC) Board of Directors, past chair
- AACC 21st Century Commission on the Future of Community Colleges, current
- AACC Sustainability Task Force, current
- League for Innovation in the Community College board member, current
- American Association of Colleges and Universities,
- American College and University Presidents' Climate Commitment Steering Committee
- Oregon Post Secondary Quality Education Commission

Dr. Spilde has received an unusual number of the most prestigious awards in the field of community college leadership—

- 2014 City of Eugene Human Rights Commission Martin Luther King Jr. Community Leadership Award
- 2014 Mattie Reynolds MLK Award
- 2014 Connected Lane County Vision Award
- 2013 U.S. Green Building Council Center for Green Schools President's Award
- 2013 National Council for Continuing Education and Training National Leadership Award
- 2012 Eugene Chamber First Citizen Award
- 2012 American Association for Women in Community Colleges Woman of the Year Award
- 2011 Association of Community College Trustees CEO of the Year Award